August 23, 2019

President Pro Tempore Series Senator Katherine Klausmeier

Maryland’s current Senate President Pro Tem, Senator Katherine Klausmeier has served in the position since January 2019 but has already left an indelible mark on the position.

A native of Maryland and a graduate of the Catholic High School of Baltimore, Klausmeier came to public office in 1994 upon her election the Maryland House of Delegates to represent Baltimore County’s 8th legislative district. She’d serve in that position from 1995-2003 when she’d be elected to her current position in the Maryland Senate.

Klausmeier would quickly become known for her dedicated constituent service and her deep connections to those who had elected her as their representative. In representing the interests of her constituents, she’d serve as a member of the House Environmental Matters Committee (1995-2003) and the Senate Finance Committee (2003-present) working on important issues that have impacted individuals statewide.

In addition to her duties in Annapolis, she’s always stayed in close contact with her community serving in numerous volunteer capacities including as a member of the Gunpowder Elementary School PTA, the Commission for Women in Baltimore County, and the League of Women Voters in Baltimore County.

Her service extends statewide as she’s been a leader in Annapolis chairing multiple committees, commissions, and task force groups and now in her position as Maryland’s Senate President Pro Tem.

Her career has seen her honored by several important advocacy organizations including selection as Maryland First Citizen (2017), the Mental Health Association of Maryland’s Legislator of the Year (2017), one of the Daily Record’s Top 100 Women in Maryland (2015), and as a special recognition awardee from the Maryland Association of Counties (2015).

With all she has accomplished, Klausmeier has definitively proved herself worthy and capable of the office of Maryland’s Senate President Pro Tem and will surely make the positive change for Marylanders that she has throughout her career in the Maryland General Assembly.