August 29, 2019

Senate Committee Chairs Series Senator Barbara Hoffman

A respected leader in the body as a member of the Maryland Senate from 1983-2003, Senator and lifelong Baltimorean Barbara Hoffman was the Chair of the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee from 1995-2003.

First appointed upon the resignation of then-Senator Rosalie Silber Abrams, Senator Barbara Hoffman forged a path that led her to the leadership of one of the most powerful committee chairmanships in the Maryland General Assembly as the Chair of the Senate Budget and Taxation.

An accomplished leader and professional prior to her time in elected office, Hoffman was the supervisor of secondary school teachers at Morgan State College from 1968-1973 and the Executive Director of the Maryland Democratic Party from 1979-1983. She’d bring those years of experience with her in her work in the Maryland General Assembly.

Consistently known for her dedication to the support of the causes of education and environmental preservation, Hoffman would champion numerous critical legislative funding initiatives that have impacted these causes for generations. A leader in the effort to codify the popular Thornton Education Funding Formula, Hoffman helped lay the groundwork for the educational successes that Maryland would see in the early and mid-2000s.

After departing the General Assembly in 2003, Hoffman became a partner with the lobbying firm the Artemis Group and has also served on numerous state boards and commissions including the 21st Century School Facilities Commission, the Interagency Commission on School Construction, and the Board of Trustees of the Enoch Pratt Free Library.

Honored on numerous occasions throughout the years, Hoffman was selected as one of Maryland’s Top 100 Women by the Maryland Daily Record on three occasions (1998, 2000, and 2003) and awarded three honorary doctorate degrees (by the University of Maryland Baltimore in 2000, the University of Maryland Baltimore County and the University of Maryland University College in 2001). Deservedly, she was selected as a recipient of Maryland’s First Citizen Award in 2001 and clearly takes her place among the most distinguished former committee chairs in the history of the Maryland Senate.