September 30, 2019

First Citizen Celebration Series Senator Norman Stone (2009)

A member of the Maryland General Assembly over parts of a remarkable six decades, Norman Stone would represent Baltimore County in the Maryland Senate from 1967 to 2015 and in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1963 to 1967. He’d be selected for the prestigious Maryland First Citizen Award in 2009.

Born in Baltimore in 1935, Stone would graduate from Baltimore Public Schools before making his way to the University of Baltimore School of Law and graduating in 1960. From law school, Stone would begin a career in the law that would parallel his career in elected service.

Stone would begin his career in public office upon his election to the Maryland House of Delegates in the 1962 elections. He’d serve in the House from 1963-1967 as a member of the Judiciary Committee, ultimately laying the groundwork for his election to the Maryland Senate in 1966.

Stone’s time in the Senate would be highlighted by numerous positions of responsibility including service as Senate Chairman of the Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer (2012-2013), the Senate Chair of the Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics (1983-2003), President Pro Tem of the Maryland Senate (1994), President Pro Tem Emeritus of the Maryland Senate (2000-2015), Vice Chair of the Judicial Proceedings Committee (1988-1993), and Chair of the Constitutional and Public Law Committee. He’d also serve as a member of the Judicial Proceedings Committee (1967-1975, 1987-1999, 2004-2015), the Budget and Taxation Committee (2000), and the Education, Health, & Environmental Affairs Committee (2001-2004).

For both his professional and legislative efforts, Stone was awarded with numerous honors. These recognitions included the Maryland First Citizen Award (2009), the Maryland Champion of Victims’ Award from the Maryland Crime Victims Resource Center (2003), the Annual Award of Excellence from the Maryland State Lodge of the Fraternal Order of Police (1994), the Legislator of the Year Award from the Baltimore Building Trades Council (1993), the Conservationist Award from Clean Water Action (1986), and selection as One of Ten Outstanding Legislators in the United States from the Assembly of Government Employees (1982).

Stone left office in January 2015 and he clearly left behind a lasting legacy of service to the people of Maryland and to all of those whom he served as constituents in Baltimore County.