Daily Archives: October 17, 2019

Maryland Senate Mourns Congressman Elijah Cummings

Marylanders woke up this morning to news of the passing of longtime Congressman and House Oversight Committee Chairman Elijah Cummings. A member of the House of Representatives since 1996, Cummings political career began in the Maryland General Assembly in 1983 upon his election to the Maryland House of Delegates. He would serve in the General […]

Read More

Anne Arundel Celebration Series Senator Ed DeGrange

Senator James “Ed” DeGrange, Sr. was a leader in Northern Anne Arundel County for over twenty years. He was elected to the Anne Arundel County Council in 1994 then subsequently to the Senate of Maryland in 1998. He represented the 32nd Legislative District of Anne Arundel County where he served as a member of the […]

Read More

Anne Arundel Celebration Series Senator H. Erle Schafer

Although a member of the Maryland State Senate from just 1979-1983, H. Erle Schafer would be a fixture of the Anne Arundel County political world for many years. Born in Baltimore on February 2, 1938, Schafer would attend Baltimore City Public Schools before making his way to the University of Baltimore School of Law (J.D., […]

Read More