October 25, 2019

Senate Democrats Select Ferguson as Nominee for President

In a Thursday morning vote, the Maryland Senate Democratic Caucus unanimously selected Senator Bill Ferguson (District 46 – Baltimore City) as their nominee to become the next President of the Maryland Senate. The decision follows news of the decision of Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. (District 27 – Prince George’s, Charles, and Calvert Counties) to step away from the position.

Elected to the Maryland Senate in 2010, Ferguson has served in a variety of leadership positions over his legislative tenure. In 2019 he became the Vice Chairman of the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee as well as the Chairman of the Marijuana Legalization Workgroup. Previously he served as the Chairman of the Senate Executive Nominations Committee (2017-2018) and the Joint Committee on Transparency and Open Government (2011-2014).

Ferguson would bring a diverse background to the Maryland Senate Presidency. A graduate of Davidson College (B.A., Political Science and Economics – 2005), the Johns Hopkins University School of Education (M.A.T. – 2007), and the University of Maryland School of Law (J.D. – 2010), Ferguson spent two years vocationally as part of the Teach for America Program in Baltimore City before ultimately becoming the Director of Reform Initiatives for the Johns Hopkins University School of Education.

The full forty-seven member State Senate will vote to select its new Senate President at the onset of the 2020 legislative on January 8, 2020. A nominee for Senate President must receive a majority vote of the body (24 votes) to attain the position.