October 30, 2019

Prince George’s Celebration Series Senator David Harrington

A member of the Maryland Senate from 2008-2011, David Harrington would represent Prince George’s County as a Maryland State Senator from 2008-2011 but his career in public service would span over multiple decades.

Born New York, Harrington would attend Howard University in Washington, D.C. (B.A., Political Science) and Miami University in Oxford, Ohio before settling in Maryland and embarking upon a career in public service.

Harrington would serve as Mayor of Bladensburg from 1995-2002 before appointment as a member of the Board of Health of Prince George’s County (2002-2008), the Board of Directors of the Metropolitan Council of Governments (2006-2008), and a member of the National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board (2006-2008). He’d be appointed to the Maryland Senate and take office on February 8, 2008 upon the sudden passing of then Maryland State Senator Gwendolyn Britt.

Harrington’s time in the Senate would be short but highlighted by several positions of responsibility including service as Chairman of the Task Force on Student Physical Fitness in Maryland Public Schools (2008) and membership on the Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee (2008-2011), the Joint Committee on Access to Mental Health Services (2009-2011), and in the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland (2008-2011).

For both his professional and legislative efforts, Harrington would be selected for multiple awards and recognitions. He’d receive the Ella Baker Civic Leadership Award from the Hurston/Wright Foundation (2007) and the Maryland Legislative Champion Award from the Chesapeake Bay Foundation (2009).

Harrington would leave the Maryland Senate in 2011 following the 2010 elections. His legacy of service continues to this day as he serves on multiple boards and commissions working for the betterment of Prince George’s County including the Blue Ribbon Commission on Addressing Prince George’s County’s Structural Deficit (2015-2017), the Task Force to Study a Promise Scholarship Program in Prince George’s County (2016-2017), and the Redevelopment Authority for Prince George’s County (present).